Douglasville Traffic Citations Lawyer
The overall number of cars and commercial trucks on our local streets, roads, and highways has increased greatly over the past few years. As a result of this increase in traffic, the number of accidents has increased as well. Because of this, the state has increased the penalties for many types of traffic violations in an attempt to encourage drivers to drive more carefully. Many traffic citations now require mandatory license suspensions and/or points against your license. Therefore, depending on your citation you may need an attorney to help preserve your driving privileges in Georgia.
The attorneys at Miller & Wynn are knowledgeable on Georgia traffic law and will fight to help you keep your driving privileges in place. Contact Miller & Wynn by email to schedule an appointment or call us at 770-999-1545 or toll-free at866-338-0555.
Many times when clients receive speeding tickets, points are assessed against their license. Our attorneys at Miller & Wynn can assist in getting some points reduced. This will often save our clients money when it comes to paying, applying, or renewing their insurance.
However, there are situations where having an attorney is a must. The State is aggressively pressuring Georgia citizens to change their driving habits. An example of this is how the State has changed the laws focused on drivers under the age of 21. For example, if a driver is under 21 years of age and is convicted of any of the following offenses he/she shall suffer a mandatory license suspension:
- Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident
- Racing on highways or streets
- Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer
- Reckless driving
- Purchasing an alcoholic beverage
- Misrepresenting age for purpose of illegally obtaining any alcoholic beverage
- Misrepresenting identity or using false identification for purpose of purchasing or obtaining any alcoholic beverage
- Driving under the influence (“DUI”)
- Accumulation of 4 or more points in any 12 month period by a person under the age of 18
- Any offense for which 4 or more points are assessable, such as;
- Improper passing on a hill or in a curve
- Unlawful passing of a school bus
- Exceeding the speed limit by 24 mph or more
- Aggressive driving
Therefore, if you are under 21 years of age and facing any of the above charges, you need adequate representation to help you with these charges and to help preserve your driving privileges.
Now, for a Georgia driver of any age, if you accumulate 15 or more points in any consecutive 24-month period, time being measured by the offense date, your license shall be suspended.