Earlier this month, police in Athens charged a man with a DUI after he stole and drove off in a golf cart. This case is extreme, most people that get charged with DUI’s in Georgia have a much less dramatic story. But, regardless, a DUI has serious consequences. For many people, this is the first time they have been in trouble with the law. It can be an overwhelming experience. DUI laws in Georgia were created to try to deter people from drinking and driving, so the penalties can be severe–even if it is your first offense.
In Georgia, a first-time DUI conviction comes with a jail sentence, fine, and license suspension. Generally, if you get convicted of a drunk driving charge, you will spend 24 hours or more in jail, pay up to $1000 in fines and lose your driving privileges for at least 30 days. Additionally, you will need to perform community service and will be on probation. Also, once you get your license back, you will likely face increased insurance rates.
Because of the harsh penalties for DUI charges in Georgia, it is important to hire experienced legal representation. The DUI defense attorneys at Miller & Hightower, Attorneys at Law, will make sure that you have a strong defense strategy.
If this is not your first offense in Georgia within the past 5 years, your penalties will be more severe if you are arrested a second time for a DUI. If you are charged with a second DUI, it is especially important to discuss your case with an experienced DUI defense attorney. In addition to increased jail time, fines and probation, you may also have to get an ignition interlock device installed on your car before you are able to drive again.
You want experienced Douglasville DUI lawyers on your side after a DUI charge, call Miller & Hightower today to find out how we can help you build a strong defense for your DUI case.